Media Studies and Mediaculture


The department of media studies focuses on three major areas: media studies and media culture, media education and further education as well as book studies and book business. During the advanced study period one of these focuses should be selected. However, it is also possible to choose a combination of those areas. Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Steinmetz is the head of the department of media studies which covers the aspects of production, products, reception, aestetics and effects of non-journalist contents and forms of radio broadcasting and the audio-visual media film, television and 'online/ multimedia'.

Media sciences and media culture studies intend to teach subject-specific basic principles, analytical and creative knowledge and practical (hands on) skills as well as enable media-related research.

The course of studies includes amongst others the following fields of interest: theory and research of kinds of media-specific communication in their historical development; integration of film, television and radio broadcasting into cultural, social, economical and technical as well as aspects of production, products, reception, aestetics and effects of these media. Another point of interest is the significance of media as a nationally and internationally relevant cultural conjunction, and the international and inter cultural view on media developments.

Regarding its cultural context this media-related science is also focusing on a historical point of view significantly. Hermeneutical, qualitative and quantitative methods of social sciences are not mutually exclusive but rather complement each other according to the respective problem. Teaching and research mix are closely connected with the media culture of the city and region as can be seen in the close cooperation with the International Festival for Documentary and Animated Film in Leipzig, with Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk (MDR), film&TV producers in the region, cinemas and film distributors and Sächsische Landesanstalt für Privaten Rundfunk und Neue Medien (SLM).